Customer Reviews for Dominion Land & Auction Company
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

886 reviews

200A Merrimac Rd   Blacksburg, VA 24060
(Office location 55 Merrimac Rd)

(540) 382-8447

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/4/2021 - 9/12/2021: Closed
  • 10/8/2021 - 10/9/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(540) 382-8447

200A Merrimac Rd
Blacksburg, VA 24060
(Office location 55 Merrimac Rd)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/4/2021 - 9/12/2021: Closed
  • 10/8/2021 - 10/9/2021: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
1

One of the worst experiences with a company I've had this year

Walker G. 
Rating:
5

Owner was Friendly and more helpful.

SURESH M. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Everett V. 
Rating:
3

Have clean trucks available

Alexandra N. 
Rating:
5

The equipment was not available when promised. The equipment was available 120 miles away from original contract location. I was forced to take a 26 foot trailer in place of the 10 footer I signed a contract with. The vendor we rented from made good on our request and switched the 26 footer back to the 10 footer for our 1 way drive home. This was the most nerve wracking experience I have ever had with a world class provider of rental transportation. The vendor in Blacksburg saved my hide. HE gets 5 Gold Stars. The way Corporate runs it rental policies needs to be reviewed in detail to lower the failure rate in executing goods that are signed for, paid for, and locked in. This was one of the most stressful experiences of my life working with your firm as a vendor. The Blacksburg Vendor where I picked up my 10 footer deserves 5 Gold Stars and a bonus for helping my son and I receive proper equipment for the job we had to accomplish. A "D" goes to Corporate. You need to evaluate the structure of your promises and hold promised committed equipment for customers to pick up at said promised location.

STEPHENSCOTT E. 
Rating:
3

Customer did not leave a comment.

RONALDWAYNE S. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shuo M. 
Rating:
4

My chains were attached poorly. They were too loose and one came detached on the highway and was dragging on the ground. For the next customer, the chains should be un-kinked and properly adjusted.

Anna C. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael O. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas O. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAMBRADFORD N. 
Rating:
5

Matthew is absolutely outstanding! Without Matthew I couldn't have gotten the stuff I needed to done! Give that man a raise Uhaul!

EVERETT V. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kara R. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

brett M. 
Rating:
2

Customer did not leave a comment.

DIONNEANTOINETTE J. 
Rating:
3

Truck was clean, but had under 1/4 tank of gas. I had reserved 2 dozen moving blankets with the truck reservation. When I arrived to pick up the truck I was told that there are none available, have not been available for a while, and to check the back of other trucks/trailers to see if I could find any. None were found. Would have been nice to know prior to the day of the move.

MATTHEWROBERT A. 
Rating:
2

The location is under staffed. Too busy to answer the phone. Too busy to help with trailer hook up and to do a safety check to make sure the lights where working correctly.

Tariq N. 
Rating:
4

More accessible parking in that area would be nice. Don't make a new lot, but clearer instructions on where/how to park would be helpful. Good staff member that day, btw.

Samuel D. 
Rating:
4

Overall the experience was great. My only suggestion is to provide a detailed list of final charges including a breakout of fees. I tried contacting this location twice by phone and twice via the text number provided on the voice message and have received no reply. The app only provides the check-out and check-in time.

Holli D. 
Rating:
2

I reserved an appliance dolly. It was not with my rental. Store said they didn't have any appliance dollys. Gave me a non U-Haul regular dolly. Since I was moving washer/dryer, asked about a strap. Employee said they didn't have any and said I could buy my own at a nearby store. What I needed was the appliance dolly I reserved. Made the job much more difficult and still was charged for the dolly I didn't get.

Alex H. 
Rating:
2

I picked up my truck at 7am and had to use the online app service. The app had glitches and then when I got my truck it didn't have any moving blankets in it, despite having paid to reserve them. Interior of the truck was OK but I don't think I'd categorize it as "clean." Service tire light was on. Only highlight was that the guy who helped me return the truck was helpful and I had an overall good customer service experience at the end.

Trisha S. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alan D. 
Rating:
1

For starters we selected a 15 ft truck from a location closer to us. We only needed a 10-ft truck but didn't want to drive the 20 extra minutes to Blacksburg to get it. So we reserved a 15 ft truck about a 5-minute drive from us in Christiansburg. We reserve this truck multiple days in advance, and an hour prior to pick up were informed via text that our pickup location had been changed to Blacksburg. So we drove the 20 extra minutes to the Merrimack pickup location. Upon arrival we found the location was closed even though according to their website and the U-Haul website they would be open even though it was memorial day. We called the location multiple times to no avail. We couldn't get online pick up to work. So we how to call U-Haul customer service. We were on the line on hold for about 15 minutes until a very exasperated but helpful woman answered the phone. It was clear that the majority of her problems were stemming from the Merrimack pickup location owner. She was great, gave us a discount on our mileage since we were now having to drive 20 extra minutes out of the way since our truck had been returned to the wrong location, and apologize profusely for this owner's lack of professionalism. We couldn't return the U-Haul to any other location which we had to drive another 20 minutes back to the Merrimack location. Upon arrival there was nowhere to park the U-Haul because other U-Hauls have been parked in other locations, and since no one was there to manage the location it was an absolute mess. Our experience was utter chaos and if I had a way to never rent a U-Haul again I wouldn't. But seeing as I don't have the money to buy my own box truck I suppose I'll have to use you again. I would not recommend Merrimack U-Haul to anyone. I tried to leave a message but the owner's mailbox is full. Perhaps it's a sign he should take better care of the customers that are relying on him to supply the services he advertises.

Bruce B. 
Rating:
1

Our truck and auto transport that were reserved three weeks prior to needing them were both unavailable. We were not told this until the morning of our reservation. I tried to call and ask about our reservation twice the week of needing the items and did not get called back. I also sent texts at two separate times to submit my pre-tow inspection and was not answered either time. The people were completely unresponsive and they were completely unapologetic that nothing we reserved was available. I don't understand why you can “reserve” things on the website if you don't know if they'll be available until the morning of. UHaul as a whole company needs to reassess the way reservations are made and confirmed. It should maybe be more of a “request” and then make sure people are contacted at least a week prior to let them know if they need to make other arrangements. This experience has made me so stressed that I never want to use UHaul again in the future.

SHANEALAN S. 
Rating:
3

Customer did not leave a comment.

DIMITRIOSC T. 
Rating:
1

When I placed my order I included furniture pads. The location did not have any and the customer service agent said he removed them from my order. I was still charged for the furniture pads which I now I have to call and dispute. I also paid 29,95 $ for the truck and due to extreme weather was delayed in getting the truck back by 3pm(9am-3pm was my order). I returned it a little after 5pm and was charged an extra 29,95 $. The 29,95 $ charge is for a full day, I guess getting the extra 29,95 $ is your way of getting more money not to buy any more furniture pads. Also, the truck leaked and even though my couch was covered still got soaked. Overall not a good experience!

James P. 
Rating:
5

Loved the service.

thanak T. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

William S. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

John T. 
Rating:
5

Very helpful and professional staff!!!

Gregory S. 
Rating:
4

I wish the prices were more reasonable. 19,95 $ is great but the add-on cost of mileage made our rental more expensive than we had wished.

Ed H. 
Rating:
5

Everything was smooth ,,no issues

BRUCEDONALD G. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERTJOHN C. 
Rating:
2

Muffler damaged or broken, very loud. Front left tire had 23psi. I filled correctly. Parking area is a disaster.

Thomas C. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Raymond B. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joanne P. 
Rating:
2

They did not have the trailer that I reserved and which I confirmed they had at least 4 times via e-mail phone and text messages. I was forced to settle for a smaller trailer which was not sufficient for my needs.

DARLENE R. 
Rating:
5

The guy was by him self on a very busy day. He needs a back up for high volume days. He was fantastic with what he had to do. Give him some help.

Robert E. 
Rating:
5

Black Top Parking Lot

HARRY M. 
Rating:
4

Have more staff.

MICHAEL T. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy M. 
Rating:
5

The staff that helped me was great. I also watched how he interacted with other customers and he was very helpful with them as well. He seemed very motivated efficient, and profesional.

Basilio A. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael E. 
Rating:
4

The mobile app is total junk. I wasted at least 30 minutes trying to pick up the truck with the app. The guy at Dominion was great. The app he was using had some glitches, but got us checked out and on the road. I'm pleased with the service and the equipment. Need to improve your applications. The mobile app needs to save data. I had to start all over twice and finally gave up.

JEFFREYJOSEPH P. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joshua J. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason H. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANGELAYVONNE H. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

KYLEPATRICK P. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMESLOWELL D. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

TANYAANN L. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dana H. 
Rating:
3

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve G. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jamie H. 
Rating:
4

Very efficient. Very friendly Thanks

THOMASLESLIE G. 
Rating:
4

Very helpful manager.

JERRY I. 
Rating:
5

Not their fault but the UHaul automated key process has some holes. IE need a co-signer and My wife couldn't count....really! Two people/phone numbers required, I am one, wife two. Don't understand what the problem was....

Cosmo L. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen W. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

BONNIELOU G. 
Rating:
5

Staff was very professional and helpful!

Katherine B. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexandra N. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARKSULLIVAN H. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES S. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATTHEWCHRISTOPH D. 
Rating:
5

The customer service was great fast and easy they make the transaction very easy and explained everything

DENISEM T. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alberto H. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

LEIGHANN B. 
Rating:
5

My pick up location was changed to Christiansburg, but I was given plenty of notice and Mitchell was very courteous and helpful.

JAMESDAVID H. 
Rating:
4

the cost is affordable, the vehicle is comfortable, and the customer service was nice. the things i don't like was, the vehicle was dirty, the tires lack air(It has disturbing sound while driving), and one of the side mirror was broken, and they don't tell me that when giving me the key...

KIDUSBOGALE A. 
Rating:
5

Timely, professional and very responsive. Highly recommend picking up your U-Haul at this location.

DOMINIC N. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

ELIZABETHBUZZERD A. 
Rating:
5

Very smooth transactions and helpful employee.

JAVIERALEXANDER B. 
Rating:
3

Customer did not leave a comment.

EMMATOELKE H. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kaitlin W. 
Rating:
5

This was so fast and easy. They made everything simple and ready on time.

CYNTHIALEE B. 
Rating:
4

The attendant was extremely helpful and efficient both during pickup and drop-off. Probably the best U-haul experience I've had. Only the office being across a four-lane from the trailers was less-than perfect but not a big deal. Thanks!

Todd F. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

LEENATLEEL L. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHERMATTH H. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHELLE H. 
Rating:
5

The gentleman was very helpful and hooked the trailer up to my car and made sure that all the lights worked properly. Great Job!!

Catherine H. 
Rating:
5

Great place to get a U haul.

ERNESTDUANE A. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

cesar R. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

SETHMARTIN D. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERTCURTIS F. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

JaQuasia P. 
Rating:
1

Horrible signage, 3 different lots, hard to know where to park.

David L. 
Rating:
3

We were not provided a jack to remove the hitch from my husband's truck / ball hitch. We spent an hour trying to get the hitch off. The drop off location had no parking and all available spots were on a hill. We were on hold for your customer service line for over 30 minutes and the phone rep was sarcastic, rude, and unhelpful. The Chesterfield pick up location and staff were wonderful and helpful.

ROGERWAYNE S. 
Rating:
5

Great customer service, very friendly!

DOUGLASKEN P. 
Rating:
4

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer S. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAREDA K. 
Rating:
1

Returned the uhaul after hours and made sure to fill the tank to where it needed to be. Somehow I got charged 38 $for not filing it correctly. I have bank records showing I got gas just minutes before. Also when we got the uhaul it wasn't where it should have been. But we filled it to where it was anyways. I called the uhaul customer service number and was told it was an ERROR and he has no idea why I was charged and it was a mistake on the properties part. I shouldn't be charged because people don't know how to do their job.

Kayla V. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randall P. 
Rating:
5

Great customer service. Mitch is the best. Quick, courteous, competent.

WILLIAMHUNTER E. 
Rating:
1

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob L. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANIELJAMES M. 
Rating:
5

Mitchell was awesome! He helped put my mind at ease and made sure I got the right size of trailer.

Samantha C. 
Rating:
3

staff here is great!

JAMESEDWARD D. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

EUNICE O. 
Rating:
5

EXCELLENT SERVICE

ALBERTJOHN D. 
Rating:
5

Customer did not leave a comment.

DENNISGRANT K. 
Rating:
3

Text information seemed excessive and time consuming while waiting to pick up truck. Even though I was able to complete part of the rental process prior to the pickup date, there seemed to still be an excessive amount of info needed at the pickup time.

Kerry L. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at 14,95 $!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Truck Sales Icon
    Trucks for Sale

    We have the largest selection in the industry!

Back
To Top